Fighting flash fraud on Ebay

The authors of this blog want to elimnate flash fraud on Ebay

Is sinceritytrading selling a real 32GB Sandisk flash drive?

sinceritytrading

Hong Kong based seller has listed a 32GB Sandisk flash drive (pictured left) for $78.49 (USD) with free shipping. Is this a genuine 32GB flash drive? If so it’s a great bargain. How to tell whether to buy this?

Well the seller has a feedback score of 1092 – that looks promising doesn’t it? Feedback score is 99.5. Should we trust the seller? Let’s have a look at this drive on the Sandisk site before we make up our minds.

Here is a screenshot of what we found on the Sandisk site:

sandisk32

So there is a 32GB listed that looks the same, it is a new model.

The only way to be sure? Test it with h2testw to check the real capacity. If you bought one of these let us know what you found – it is possible that this is one of the lower capacity drives of this model that has been fraudulently re-programmed.

Report your fake if testing confirms you have purchased fake capacity flash memory on ebay.

Written by fightflashfraud

May 22, 2009 at 10:53 AM

61 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. WARNING ……… Sincerity is NOT a good deal !!!!!!

    If i were you, i would’nt buy from sinceritytrading. I ordered a TOSHIBA MICRO SD MICRO SDHC 32GB 32G 32 G GB MEMORY CARD NEW LIFE TIME WARRANTY #220941563517 in begin of september and i have never received it. They would send me a new one because theu thought it might be lost… But until now the is no item arrived at my house.

    Ton Mollers

    November 27, 2012 at 3:53 PM

  2. To all possible buyers, I tried to purchase a sandisk card from sinceritytrading in August, when I didn’t receive the item I contacted sinceritytrading through ebay the website on which I bought the item, and sinceritytrading said that he would resend the item, to this day I have not received either items, I have been to our post office to look for the delivery, but it is not there, and after all that when I have started asking for a tracking number to trace the items at our post office or a refund from sinceritytrading, he completely ignores me, I’ve probably sent in excess of 10 requests to refund or provide additional information and he just ignores me. I have tried to contact ebay and paypal and they just give me the run around, if anyone intends trying to purchase from sinceritytrading I hope that you do your homeworks on this seller, as I didn’t and now I find myself out of pocket financially. I have since purchase the same item off another website, I did nothing different and I received the item within 3 days, I’ve been waiting for sinceritytrading since August, it’s now November.
    If sinceritytrading does ever get to read this, I hope he does the right thing to sort out this sutuation.
    Warren

    Warren

    November 27, 2012 at 11:28 AM

  3. Hi,
    I bought 64 bit SDXC class 10 from sinceritytrading. Checked it with h2testw and here are the results:

    Warning: Only 60873 of 60874 MByte tested.
    Test finished without errors.
    You can now delete the test files *.h2w or verify them again.
    Writing speed: 11.3 MByte/s
    Reading speed: 17.2 MByte/s
    H2testw v1.4

    The missing 1 MByte in the warning above is probably due to the SDxc Xfat format.

    I’m about to give the supplier 5 stars unless anyone object my conclusion here?

    Anotherone

    June 22, 2012 at 8:23 AM

  4. I bought a 16G SanDisk Ultra Backup, and it seems to be genuine. The the drive size is as advertised (tested on linux with f3, and writing and reading some random data with dd), the write speeds are more or less what others report on the Internet, even the U3 functionality seems to be working.

    cagri

    March 5, 2011 at 10:58 PM

  5. I bought an 8 GB Sandisk Extreme CF from sinceritytrading recently (big risk, I now realise) and it’s OK. There are no errors and transfer speeds are faster than my old laptop.
    Do I trust sinceritytrading? Not 100%.
    Would I buy from them again? Probably not.
    Are all there products fake? I don’t think so. Sites like fightflashfraud, sosfakeflash, fake-memory.com are grossly unfair to traders who make just one mistake. Perhaps sinceritytrading’s supplier was at fault and they themselves didn’t know the product was bad. They must ship thousands and can’t test even batches, I think.
    Was my purchase a good deal? Yes, but what if the card failed with htestw. Is it worth the trouble to test and then dispute over a fake card?

    stephen

    January 14, 2011 at 11:12 AM

  6. Hi all,
    I’m not sure if I fall under bought a genuine product or not…but I believe it is genuine, so sharing my experience with everyone here :)
    I bought it from sinceritytradingau, also named Calvin from HK.
    Took 10 days for delivery to reach me, at first I thought its fake, since it is $20 cheaper than those usual ones on the market and there are tones of rumours of fake drive from HK.

    I tested with h2testw, test runs fine and pass
    However the USB is 16GB Kingston DataTraveler but the system shows it as 14.9GB (h2testw shows 15.2GB but yes it passed)… Is that supposed to be normal behaviour?

    Also I took the label on the back and check its genuinity on kingston.com/wa; it sent me an email to say it is real.

    Cheers all

    Johnny

    October 15, 2010 at 4:55 AM

  7. Hi Mato,
    If you got genuine memory cards from sinceritytrading then that’s great, and it seems that some buyers have received items that were ok. However, we know for sure that fakes were sold by this seller back in 2009 when this article was written and a quick look at the seller’s recent feedback suggests that some fakes are still being sold. In the circumstances we would advise all customers to check with h2testw to be sure.

    fightflashfraud

    July 30, 2010 at 12:42 PM

  8. Hi

    I’m an advanced user of DSLRs and I’ve bought several cards to Calvin (say 4 or 5 SanDisk Ultra & Extreme, and one Transcend Class 10).

    I have no way of knowing if the box and accessories are fake, but I’ve tested writing speeds using a fast card reader and always obtained very reasonable rates. Say about 20 MB/s for faster cards, and about 10 MB/s for the Transcend Class 10 (just a couple of days ago). Also very coherent results according to the category of the card (say Extreme have been always faster than Ultras).

    Also no problems about capacity: it’s the one specified.

    I’m not saying that there are no fakes, but my experiences always have been good with him, and surely I’ll buy again without hesitations.

    Cheers.

    Mato34

    July 30, 2010 at 10:34 AM

  9. DO NOT BUY FROM CALVIN CHOI SINCERITYTRADING – HE HAS RECENTLY BEEN FRAUDULENTLY SELLING IPHONE 3GS 32GB PHONES THAT HE HAS NOT INTENTION OF POSTING OUT – HE WILL NOT RESPOND TO EMAILS AFTER YOU HAVE PURCHASED. HIS LISTINGS ARE CONSTANTLY REMOVED BY EBAY.

    DO NOT BUY – SINCERITYTRADING BEWARE, BEWARE, BEWARE

    John thomas

    March 10, 2010 at 9:12 PM

  10. Hi Alan,
    There is always a discrepancy between the actual space available for storage and the advertised capacity of flash memory due to space reserved for file management and the way capacities are calculated. The actual capacity available also depends partly on the quality of the memory. If it passed h2testw it should be ok – you could always run the test again to be sure.

    fightflashfraud

    March 3, 2010 at 7:51 AM

  11. Just bought a 16GB Sony Pro HG Duo from sinceritytrading.
    I was not aware of fake flash memory until AFTER I had made the purchase, and reading this page made me quite nervous.

    However to my delight, I have run the h2testw programme and it reported no errors.
    Do I only need to run this once? Or multiple time?

    17.6 MB/S writing and 20.1MB/S verifying.

    The one slight concern I have is that it tested to 15.3GB.
    The file->properties shows 16,110,485,504 bytes. Free space 15GB.
    Could this be a badly formatted card? Or have other defect?

    Thanks for your return comments.

    Alan

    March 2, 2010 at 10:43 PM

  12. Hi Simon,
    We trust that you claimed and got a refund through paypal for the item you did not receive. Ebay seller sinceritytrading is a well known fraudster who has sold thousands of fakes.

    In a way you had a lucky escape – at least you didn’t get the item and then find (weeks later) that photos or video you thought you saved to the card had either vanished altogether were corrupted.

    fightflashfraud

    February 1, 2010 at 9:27 PM

  13. DON’T do business with sinceritytrading / Calvin Choi. I bought a memory card from him which I never recieved. When I asked him to refund my money he started to ignore my emails. Sinceritytrading / Calvin Choi is NOT a serious seller.

    Simon

    February 1, 2010 at 9:06 PM

  14. To Sunfox,

    Nothing new on sinceritytrading at the moment – we’d be a bit wary about buying though. If you do take the risk of purchasing from this seller (or anyone else one ebay) be sure to test the drive with h2testw!

    fightflashfraud

    November 9, 2009 at 9:34 AM

  15. I’ve been considering purchasing a rather expensive Sandisk compact flash card from this seller, and have been researching him due to all the talk about fake flash products on eBay. Even after reading this thread I was content that he was MOST LIKELY an honest seller, especially since there is only one truly confirmed report of a fake product (a small cheap USB stick – why bother really), but there have been a couple of more recent eBay feedback reports of possible concern.

    thanks.good ebay seller just the flash drive is fake! teejay19830911 ( 221) Nov-02-09 08:21
    SANDISK EXTREME CONTOUR U3 16GB 16G USB FLASH DRIVE NEW (#320426745109) US $55.49

    *** ATTENTION! Criminal seller! This is a FAKE Corsair USB!!! NEARLY exact copy! hace83 ( 110) Oct-18-09 03:49
    CORSAIR VOYAGER 8GB 8G 8 G GB USB FLASH DRIVE NEW (#220484296588)

    BEWARE! FAKE SANDISK PRODUCTS! FAKE! ITEM DID NOT WORK! FAKE! petrowi ( 110) Oct-07-09 15:43
    SANDISK CRUZER TITANIUM U3 16GB 16G 16 G GB USB DRIVE (#220474189366) US $47.99

    Very BAD eBayer!!! Avoid this very DISHONEST & LIAR SELLER for your purchase! sedrikprocess ( 132) Oct-06-09 20:28
    TOSHIBA MICRO SD MICRO SDHC 16GB 16 16G G GB MEMORY NEW (#220463332477) US $47.49

    It’s not much, and that last one might not actually be referring to anything of importance, but with possibly 4 fake clames I’m now a bit concerned.

    His price isn’t insanely cheaper than discount retailers in the US, but I’m in Canada, the model I want isn’t sold up here, and one of the less expensive US retailers ship to Canada, meaning I’m essentially forced to pay MSRP through B&H or J&R. And I hate paying MSRP.

    Any other recent information on Sincerity Trading?

    Sunfox

    November 9, 2009 at 6:27 AM

  16. I took a chance and bought an 8 gig Transcend SDHC class 6 memory card from sinceritytrading. I was aware of the number of fakes on ebay but thought I’d chance it given the price and positive ratings.

    I never knew about h2testw or even this thread til after my card arrived this week. But I just completed the test just now and am glad to report that it went fine – output below.

    Test finished without errors.
    You can now delete the test files *.h2w or verify them again.
    Writing speed: 9.45 MByte/s
    Reading speed: 12.5 MByte/s
    H2testw v1.4

    I’m not sure how the R/W speeds stack up for a class 6 card (connected directly to my laptop through built in card reader) but it all seems fine to me. The only thing that might cause concern is that the 8 gig card shows as having a capacity of 7.6 gig, but I’m used too all storage at this stage actually having less than it’s supposed to.

    Communication and even the little personal touches and gratitude from sinceritytrading seemed great to me too. I think it’d be harsh to write them off, but I’ll assume ye know more than me. But unless I see a dramatic fall in their rating based on informed and actual customer reviews I’d buy form them again.

    Just my 2 cents.

    Gearóid

    Gearóid

    September 30, 2009 at 8:44 PM

  17. Hello sinceritytrading,

    It does seem a little strange if the buyer who reported the Sandisk flash drive which failed testing with h2testw to sosfakeflash did not claim a refund. Perhaps you should send this buyer a tested replacement and ask the buyer to get in touch with us.

    Unfortunately most people don’t test their flash memory. As a result many people selling fakes end up with huge positive feedback scores, so feedback score is not a reliable indicator.

    If you are indeed one of the few genuine sellers from your part of the world it must be very frustrating for you to find yourself listed on our blogs.

    We have no wish to persecute anyone who is selling genuine items but at present the only thing we can say for certain is that an 8GB Sandisk you sold failed testing with h2testw.

    fightflashfraud

    September 26, 2009 at 5:29 PM

  18. Hi All,

    This is the possible bad seller that you guys (and gals of course) have been talking about.

    I have been in times checking on your comments; I do want to know what the experts are saying on the authenticity of my products. I just want to add a few lines and I will not bother you guys here anymore.

    I have been in active selling of flash memory for about 6 months now. I am selling at a very low profit intentionally so that I can gain into the market in a very short time. I am quite successful in this sense (not earning much money though) – I now have 5710 feedback, meaning I have over 10000 orders already.

    The rating is 99.6%, and yes, as some of you pointed out, I have 2 possible cases on inauthenticity.

    1. user sent me a hacked memory key, does not repsond to my message after selling SANDISK CRUZER U3 8GB 8 8G G GB USB FLASH DRIVE NEW (#320386083684)
    2. Received a 4gb stick masquerading as a 16gb. Crafty. TOSHIBA USB FLASH DRIVE 16GB 16G 16 G GB 7-DAY RETURN (#330357334136)

    There was no email respond for Case #1 user after he posted the comment; strange that he never even bothers to claim the money back from PayPal. I am finding more details on Case #2.

    But frankly, when I sell over 10000 flash memories, many different scenario of customer cases will come up. Would some customers report the case by false impression? Possible. Would one or two be really fake? Possible, but I still believe it is not likely because I only buy from the largest distributors in Hong Kong which are moving hundreds of thousands of products everyday.

    But really, if I am selling fake, there should be more customers complaining since I have sold to over 10000 now.

    Anyway, sorry to bother you guys and I will leave it to all of you for continuing discussion. I will not interrupt anymore. Thanks.

    sinceritytrading

    sinceritytrading

    September 26, 2009 at 4:38 PM

  19. Hi IT guy,

    As said prevously – evidence is the thing! Posts and comments here count for nothing in proving whether or not a seller is fraudulent. Evidence gathered in the database that proves items are fake does!

    Without a report from the buyer (with all required detais provided) nothing will go into our database.

    If you bought a fake on ebay please report in to sosfakeflash by email as outlined on the “report a fake” tab:

    http://sosfakeflash.wordpress.com/report-a-fake/

    fightflashfraud

    September 23, 2009 at 7:39 PM

  20. To add to this long discussion on this seller.

    A negative was left on 23 Sept that stated.

    Received a 4gb stick masquerading as a 16gb. Crafty. Buyer: samurai_girl ( 441) Sep-23-09 11:13
    TOSHIBA USB FLASH DRIVE 16GB 16G 16 G GB 7-DAY RETURN (#330357334136)

    ITGuy

    September 23, 2009 at 7:02 PM

  21. Casper,

    The evidence with full details of proven fake flash drives sold on ebay is stored in a database. An alert like the one the link leads to is never issued on the sosfakeflash site without hard evidence.

    Should there ever be the possibility of legal action against fraudsters we have evidence in the database that would stand up in a court of law.

    If we published full details of our evidence it could be compromised and possibly misused. You don’t see the police publishing all the evidence about a case in a newspaper do you? Their reasons for not making everything public are the same as ours.

    You are correct in saying some retailers unknowingly sold fake flash – it has happened in a number of countries. This is why we strongly suggest testing all flash memory with h2testw.

    The people running the blogs were buyers on ebay who fell victim to fraudulent sellers from Hong Kong and China.

    Although there are sellers who were victims of fraudulent suppliers who work with the blog authors on trying to put a stop to this fraud the people who started the blogs were all buyers, none were sellers!

    We can see why you might think there was some ulterior motive, but there is not. The writers are mostly people working in IT for whom fake flash could have been an absolute disaster.

    Our only motivation is to try and save people from ending up with corrupted files.

    fightflashfraud

    September 23, 2009 at 1:04 PM

  22. Shaun > As you will see from my posts above, I bought a Kingston Data Traveler DT Mini Slim 16 GB from the man, and it was absolutely genuine and OK.

    This doesn’t exclude the possibility he might also sell fake ones. But I’d like some proof.

    The link just above this post just claims: “Confirmed fake is the SANDISK CRUZER U3 8GB.” There is no test report, no details.

    Are you talking about the user on ebay leaving this feedback? “user sent me a hacked memory key, does not repsond to my message after selling Buyer: yessirsir ( 6 ) Jul-21-09 11:02 SANDISK CRUZER U3 8GB 8 8G G GB USB FLASH DRIVE NEW (#320386083684)”

    As one will see from the comments of Erik above, some people will make flawed conclusions. Also, there is the possibility that this website (and those who write on it) have set it up in order to promote their own flash selling business and accuse competitors. Everything is possible, right?

    At least, people should be able to give some more detailed proof.

    I also mentioned that even shop chains here in Denmark have sold fake flash – unknowingly – so there is a chance that ALL sellers of flash sticks happen to do this before or later, unwillingly, because they get them from their suppliers.

    Casper

    September 23, 2009 at 12:06 PM

  23. Do not buy from sinceritytrading – the project now has proof that this seller is fraudulent. When we get proof an alert is published on the sosfakeflash site. You will find the alert about this crook here:

    http://sosfakeflash.wordpress.com/2009/08/12/sinceritytrading-ebay-fake-flash-seller-alert-hong-kong/

    fightflashfraud

    September 23, 2009 at 7:03 AM

  24. I was shopping around eBay for flash drives, in particular, a Corsair Flash Voyager GT, which led me to this site in pursuit of genuine products.

    Has anyone bought from sinceritytrading lately who did a verification test on their flash drives? He has been receiving many positive feedbacks lately. With so many purchases, can nobody still confirm whether he is a seller of genuine flash drives or counterfeits?

    I’ve sent him queries through an e-mail to sincerity.trading/at/ymail.com but he has yet to reply after 2 days. Has anyone else had problems contacting this seller as well? I’m asking this because I do not want to find out that my purchase is a fake and have problems contacting him in the future.

    Shaun

    September 22, 2009 at 10:53 PM

  25. We do not assume anything here. We say when we suspect something is fake. In the case of sinceritytrading we were fairly sure this was a fraudulent seller. We now have proof that some items from this seller were fake.

    If we think a seller may be unaware of the fact that they are selling fake memory we normally say so. We try to give any seller who may have inadveratantly bought fake items and listed them on ebay advice about removing the items from sale, testing them and trying to get a refund from the supplier.

    If possible, we do it before they ever get posted here – but the problem of fake flash memory is so huge that we don’t have enough people with the time to spot every fake and enter into dialogue with each and every seller. Seller sinceritytrading does not appear to be a victim of fraud but a perpetrator from what we have seen.

    You will see that some ebay sellers who have been posted here because they inadvertenly sold fakes before we noticed their listings have actually thanked us for our support.

    Honest ebay sellers who fell foul of fraudulent suppliers appreciate our effofts to drag them out of the brown sticky stuff!

    We wish that people would stop thinking we make assumptions – we dont!

    Some of those working on the project were sellers who inadvertantly sold fakes themselves. They contacted and refunded buyers when they found out. This is what every honest person does.

    Please folks – we need your help to save both ebay sellers and buyers from trouble. If you see a suspect flash memory item on ebay send the seller a question warning it could be fake.

    Suggest the seller contacts the manufacturer if it is brand name item (Kingston, Sony, Sandisk, Corsair etc) or – for unbranded items – that they should download the free program h2testw and test their items.

    The responses you get will often reveal whether the seller is a victim of a fraudulent supplier or a deliberate fraudster fairly quickly!

    fightflashfraud

    September 10, 2009 at 8:06 PM

  26. I understand what you’re saying Casper. People just assuming…..

    Sammy da Bull

    September 10, 2009 at 5:27 PM

  27. http://translate.google.com/translate?prev=hp&hl=en&js=y&u=http%3A%2F%2Fing.dk%2Fartikel%2F91238-pas-paa-falske-usb-noegler-florerer-paa-nettet&sl=da&tl=en&history_state0=

    “Earlier this year, the Danish major distributor of memory modules EET Nordic got delivered a shipment of fake USB keys that slipped through the company’s control and made it to the Danish shop shelves.

    »The manufacturer had succeeded in falsifying the control, so the USB key looked as though it were 4 GB, but in fact only had a capacity of 2GB. And it was done cleverly, you could only find out if you directly tested it or tried to fill it up, “says CEO John Thomas from EET Nordic.

    He stresses that the customers who have purchased a fake USB key brand of Micro Memory in one of the EET’s retailers can all go to EET Nordic and get it swapped.

    John Thomas says that after the incident they have tightened controls to ensure that it does not repeat itself. “

    Casper

    September 6, 2009 at 9:56 AM

  28. fightflashfraud > I guess it is possible that the same seller has both fake and real items. Wilfully or not. According to web fora I read, some Danish consumers bought fake flash sticks from large retailer chains in Denmark. The shops first didn’t want to recognise their mistake, but eventually had to.

    Casper

    September 6, 2009 at 9:48 AM

  29. Firstly, you claim the item is “fake” but you trust play.com selling the same item?

    Secondly, it is shown on Sandisk’s homepage here http://sandisk.com/media/97221/12.sd_banner.jpg (sandisk.com > Consumer products > Imagaing cards > SD and SDHC cards).

    Casper

    September 6, 2009 at 9:45 AM

  30. We actually now have hard evidence that at least some of this seller’s wares are fake. See this post on sosfakeflash:

    http://sosfakeflash.wordpress.com/2009/08/12/sinceritytrading-ebay-fake-flash-seller-alert-hong-kong/

    In light of this we are quite surprised that Casper says his is genuine – usually when a seller in sinceritytrading’s part of the world has sold one fake then all their flash memory turns out to be fake.

    fightflashfraud

    September 6, 2009 at 9:38 AM

  31. Dude, the fact that they are selling a product that doesn’t exist is pretty hard evidence.

    I feel sorry for you if you think otherwise.

    Erik

    September 6, 2009 at 6:45 AM

  32. Well, the item I got was definitely real.

    This doesn’t exclude the possibility of other items being fake. But, Erik, you can’t claim they are “definately selling fakes”. Where is your hard evidence?

    Casper

    September 5, 2009 at 9:50 PM

  33. *Definitely* selling fakes. They have a Sandisk Ultra II Class 4 32GB SDHC for sale which isn’t even out yet.

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/SANDISK-ULTRA-II-SD-HC-SDHC-32GB-32G-32-G-GB-MEMORY-NEW_W0QQitemZ330357764862QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_AudioTVElectronics_PDAsAccessories_MemoryCards?hash=item4ceadb72fe&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14

    And at Play.com:

    http://www.play.com/Electronics/Electronics/4-/6044184/SanDisk-32GB-SD-Ultra-II-Memory-Card/Product.html

    “£74.99 Free Delivery
    RRP: £149.99 | You save: £75.00 (50%)
    Pre-order. | Due for release on 21/09/2009″

    There is no mention of this card on the SanDisk website, the Ultra II SDHC cards only go up to 16GB

    Retards. Avoid at all cost! Definitely buying mine from Play.com – tried, tested and trusted.

    Erik

    September 5, 2009 at 12:41 PM

  34. I tested with h2testw, of course. Otherwise it wouldn’t be a test :)

    One correction: he actually sent it on 23 July (post stamp), I just misread the hand-written date.

    Do you have a link to Sosfakeflash about Sinceritytrading?

    Casper

    August 15, 2009 at 7:42 PM

  35. To Casper and Grace,

    I’m afraid the seller is NOT approved as far as we are concerned!! Sosfakeflash now has documented evidence of one type of flash drive sold by sincerity trading being fake capacity.

    If one model is fake capacity, usually all are. When you said you tested do you mean it passed testing with h2testw or just that you looked at the drive’s properties? Only a full test with h2testw will reveal the truth.

    fightflashfraud

    August 14, 2009 at 8:30 PM

  36. I got the Kingston Data Traveler DT Mini Slim 16 GB for just USD 33.49 from Sinceritytrading, as mentioned above. I have tested it and they are entirely OK. The packing looks absolutely genuine too.

    So Sinceritytrading is approved!

    It was sent from Hong Kong on 29 July, eight days after my order. A bit late, meybe, but I didn’t need it sooner.

    (The reason why I didn’t post here earlier was because I just moved and the letter was re-distributed.)

    Casper

    August 14, 2009 at 6:47 PM

  37. I have had multiple dealings with Calvin and I trust him. I’ve been scammed before but will admit that he seemed too good to be true at face value.
    However I’ve never had a retailer that will go to the lengths that Calvin will to assuade your conflictions.

    I bought and tested two SanDisk 32GB SDHC cards (£116 including P&P!); they ARE real.
    They have acted as such for months now.
    They fill to the last byte, read at the speeds they are supposed to and were packaged perfectly.
    It’s not just the products that stand up for him either; his communication is excellent, he is very personal for a business man, and he has always responded well to my e-mails.
    Ironically, he e-mailed me and told me about this topic himself.
    Wouldn’t that be shooting yourself in the foot if you were commiting fraud?
    Honestly, I’d trust Calvin to sell me organs should I need it.
    If no-one else will, I’ll stand up for him.

    Grace Matthews

    August 3, 2009 at 12:21 AM

  38. We look forward to hearing what you find – it will be great if the item tests ok!

    fightflashfraud

    July 23, 2009 at 11:56 AM

  39. Getting exciting. I got a shipping confirmation from Sinceritytrading (“Your eBay Item Will be Shipped Out on the Next Working Day”) yesterday and I decided to write this little message back to Calvin Choi (sincerity.trading /at/ ymail.com):

    Thanks. I hope you can confirm your goods are original quality. I am going to test the storage capacity of the device. Unfortunately, there have been fake items around, also among retailers in good faith.
    Thanks, Casper …

    Dear Casper, All our products are genuine and come in unopened original manufacturer’s sealed packing. If you don’t like the product for any reason within 7 days, you are welcome to return to us in unopened packing for a full refund. We have over 3000 happy customers from 50 countries within 6 months and my rating is 99..8% positive. Moreover, we only buy from the largest distributors in Hong Kong which are moving hundreds of thousands of products everyday. I hope this will give you a bit more confidence.

    Thanks for your enquiry and looking forward for your business. Please visit my eBay store http://stores.shop.ebay.com/sinceritymemorycomputeraccessory for more choices of capacity and color.

    Sincerely, Calvin

    Casper

    July 23, 2009 at 11:42 AM

  40. Casper’s link to the item does seem to be working now – didn’t when I first tried it – strange. We look forward to hearing Casper’s findings about the item. I for one will cheer if sinceritytrading does turn out to be a sincere trader.

    fightflashfraud

    July 22, 2009 at 4:06 PM

  41. To Robert:

    Big companies who buy in vast bulk and sell a lot with very small profit margins on each item (such as play.com) can undercut the general market price on all sorts of goods including flash drives. It is very difficult if not impossible for someone to do so on ebay by the time listing fees, final value fees, post and packing and paypal fees are taken into account.

    Research by people in the frankenflash project indicates that at present the cost of flash memory is actually rising rather than falling at the moment so we don’t anticipate any fall in prices.

    Fake flash is not found only on ebay, it can be found all over the place including Amazon.Shortly before Christmas 2008 Asda/Walmart in the United states apparently ended up with fake flash drives.

    fightflashfraud

    July 22, 2009 at 3:51 PM

  42. Many places sell that drive for under $40 (Amazon.com, Buy,com – $34.95). Not sure why you would suspect it based on price. As these devices flood the market prices are dropping. Of course that doesn’t mean yours isn’t fake. But at some point in time I would think it will become cheaper to sell the real ones at market price than to rework the smaller capacities to make them look larger. I am anxious to hear the results from the frankenflash project on this seller.

    Robert Hay

    July 22, 2009 at 3:13 PM

  43. You are quite right Casper – most people do not test drives – they plug them in and look at what the operating system says. They see what the fraudsters want them to see and leave positive feedback. A lot of people who buy flash drives may not exceed the real capacity of the drive for months, or even years, in normal use. When things go wrong they will simply assume something went wrong with the drive.

    Flash memory has become a fraudster’s paradise – if every user tested every flash memory item with h2testw as soon as it arrived this would change! We strongly advise anyone reading this blog to download this program. It was written by Harald Bögeholz for a German computer magazine and can be downloaded from their site. There is a link to the post about this valuable program in most recent posts on this blog:
    learn about h2testw
    Just follow the link in the post to get to the download page.

    fightflashfraud

    July 21, 2009 at 5:24 PM

  44. The link is still working – even if I sign out of ebay.

    Sinceritytrading seems to live up to most criteria listed in this ebay guide. Free shipping, return policy, cheap prices, Hong Kong based, and they only sell USB flash sticks, nothing else. So I guess I may have been tricked. First, I’ll see if I actually get any mail from them…

    The negative feedback finder on http://www.toolhaus.org/cgi-bin/negs lists a few cases where buyers didn’t receive their goods, but no cases of fake flash.

    However, I guess only a minimal fraction of buyers actually test the devices?

    Casper

    July 21, 2009 at 4:57 PM

  45. The item Casper refers to seems to have been removed by ebay – so the flash drive he bought is probably counterfeit. We await developments – seller sinceritytrading still looks very suspect to us!

    fightflashfraud

    July 21, 2009 at 3:44 PM

  46. Very interesting. I didn’t know of such a thing as fake flash memory. Yesterday I bought a Kingston Data Traveler DT Mini Slim 16 GB for just USD 33.49 which is quite cheap, about 35 % cheaper than the best offer here in Denmark, and prices here are lower than in neighbouring countries, including the UK.

    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=220449778269

    When I receive it I might try to test it. Where can I download h2testw?

    Casper

    July 21, 2009 at 3:02 PM

  47. To Buyer
    You will note that my comment said IF Robert is right then it SEEMS that this seller MAY have genuine drives. Those working with the frankenflash project word things very carefully. We do not say anything is certainly fake or certainly genuine unless we have some evidence to support such conclusions. I am of the personal opinion that this seller still looks suspect. It could be that you are right – in which case they must have originated from an employee who smuggled failed stock out of the factory. This seems unlikely, howeverer, as major manufacturers like Sandisk usually ensure that anything which fails quality control is destroyed. Until we have conclusive evidence of some sort we can neither “convict” nor “clear” this seller. We must await concrete evidence to draw any conclusions. I am sorry If my intentions in comments here were unclear – but this seller is still a suspect!

    fightflashfraud

    July 20, 2009 at 6:05 PM

  48. I wouldn’t be so quick to judge.
    My 16gb ultra Pro HG is exhibiting problems.
    The speed has become erratic, to the point where the data being read will crash my PSP and when playing music from the stick in Windows media player (Vista).

    What I have determined after testing with a Pro HG card reader—write speed is capped at 13mb/sec, a good margin below the advertised guarantee of 30mb/sec. Read speed however ranges anywhere from 15mb/sec to below 8mb/sec.

    Initial tests showed the flash was in working order, however after a week of normal usage, (transfers/readings) the stick has become problematic. Not often enough to warrant inconvenience, but it certainly is not the quality I’ve come to expect from genuine Sandisk products.

    I suspect that some, if not all of the Sandisk products by sinceritytrading is either rejected/bad stock from Sandisk manufacturers in China.

    Buyer

    July 20, 2009 at 5:21 PM

  49. If Robert is right then it seems that this seller may have genuine drives – a cause for celebration as these are at a very good price – the seller must be hoping to sell in very large numbers to make up for a tiny profit margin.

    fightflashfraud

    July 20, 2009 at 3:38 PM

  50. I wasn’t going to run the test because I already had 20 GB of music and photos on the drive. But I went ahead and ran the test for the balance of the space. It wrote approximately 12 GB of data in 1 GB increments. When the disk was full it ran through the verification. The result said “test completed with no errors”. So it looks like this one is legit. I can’t vouch for every drive sold by this seller, but this one seems OK. And like I said, Office Depot has these for $79.99 now, which is less than $10 more than what I paid.

    Robert Hay

    July 20, 2009 at 1:18 PM

  51. I’m up over 20 GB now, and everything still reads fine. Whenever I add more data, the size of the data before transfer seems to jive with what shows up on the flash drive after the transfer. Transfers are slow, but then I’m still connected by USB 1.1. I also see that this exact drive is selling at Office Depot for $79.99.

    Robert Hay

    July 18, 2009 at 4:39 PM

  52. Hi Robert,
    When you run h2testw all looks well until you get the results! That’s when you learn the truth. I have often had to leave a test to run overnight with fakes – genuine flash memory tests much faster. It could be that this is actually a genuine seller trading out of Hong Kong – prices certainly seem more in line with what we would expect than those we see from most sellers in this area. We await your findings. If sinceritytrading is a genuine seller we will happily recommend the seller once members of the frankenflash project have tested the seller’s items themselves. So far we have found very few genuine sellers – we had hoped to build up a “safe list” but have had little success – I think we only found three so far!

    fightflashfraud

    July 14, 2009 at 9:19 PM

  53. I’m at 12.5 GB and counting, and everything reads back fine. I’ll let you know when I reach/pass 16 GB. I’ve seen the 32GB drive at other places in the $80 – $90 range.

    Robert Hay

    July 14, 2009 at 6:45 PM

  54. Silly me, i forgot to link the item i purchased for reference. In any case, the following URL is the exact item that was sold to me.

    http://cgi.ebay.com/SANDISK-ULTRA-II-MEMORY-STICK-MS-PRO-HG-DUO-16GB-16-GB_W0QQitemZ330341450492QQcmdZViewItemQQptZPCC_Drives_Storage_Internal?hash=item4ce9e282fc&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=65%3A12|66%3A2|39%3A1|72%3A1205|293%3A1|294%3A50

    buyer

    July 14, 2009 at 5:25 AM

  55. It’s quite possible the seller is able to get stock that may not have passed the minimum guaranteed speeds.

    As far as I’m aware, the write speed is below the advertised 30mb per second (h2testw revealed mine at 11mb per second). However i cannot conclusively state such a claim without testing the product with a pro-HG card reader.

    The Sandisk Mircomate (pro duo) reader I used in my tests was a bottleneck in both testing senarios.

    The read speed on the other hand, was a consistent 15mb per second (tested using Sandisk Micromate+h2twstw).

    Upon further evaluation of the product, I would advise any potential buyer to consider a purchase only if the advertised read/write speeds are not a significant factor. I suspect they are not up to standard. Otherwise, the product seems to be genuine and works as advertised.

    Hope this helps those folks that were in the dark about this.

    buyer

    July 14, 2009 at 5:10 AM

  56. Well we are a little surprised to hear this as we can’t see how the seller could make any profit at this price.

    fightflashfraud

    July 12, 2009 at 10:28 AM

  57. I bought a 16gb Sandisk memory stick from the aforementioned seller, and ran h2testw twice to determine the legitimacy of the product, and i am surprised to say both tests finished without any errors. Furthermore, the read/write speeds are consistent with the Sandisk micromate reader I used running on windows Vista.

    In conclusion, I am conident this seller is trust worthy, in regard to the Sandisk products available for sale.

    buyer

    July 12, 2009 at 6:06 AM

  58. We have seldom come across a fake with more than 8Gb capacity, so it could perhaps be genuine. However, the fact that h2testw was going to take 10 hours seems a bit fishy – I suppose it could be (unusually) a 16GB programmed to 32GB. If it is really 32GB we would like to pat this seller on the back, as almost everything out of Hong Kong is fake – but we do wonder how the seller could make a profit on genuine 32GB at this price.

    fightflashfraud

    July 8, 2009 at 8:03 PM

  59. Instead of running the test, I have a little more than 9GB of photos and music on it right now. Everything plays back fine.

    Robert Hay

    July 8, 2009 at 7:10 PM

  60. The fact that a full test would take this long suggest that is is probably a fake with a real capacity of 4GB or less – run a test on the first 8GB – with a genuine drive this will take less than 30 minutes. With a fake it may take longer – testing the whole “supposed capacity” of 32GB and 64GB fakes can take a very long time – a test of the first 8GB is quite enough to tell you whether it is genuine or fake.

    fightflashfraud

    July 4, 2009 at 10:12 PM

  61. Just received 32GB SanDisk from sinceritytrading. I paid a little over $70. Drive appears to be legit. I’m running Windows XP SP1 and my USB ports are 1.1. Front ports won’t detect drive. But when I plug it into the rear port, it’s there. Have already loaded about 1GB of data, and all looks well. Properties show over 30 GB open. Started to run h2testw but it says it would take over 10 hours to complete so I aborted.Anybody else run this test on SanDisk drive from sinceritytrading?

    Robert Hay

    July 4, 2009 at 7:40 PM


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

