Fighting flash fraud on Ebay

The authors of this blog want to elimnate flash fraud on Ebay

fake Sony flash drive on ebay from seller foxymob-deja-vu

with 2 comments

The 32GB USB flash drive in this ebay listing from foxymob-deja-vu (item number 250727552453) is a fake capacity counterfeit which corrupts files. There is no such thing as a genuine Sony Vaio flash drive – they are all fakes.

We advise everyone who buys flash memory items to test them with the free program h2testw irrespective of where they were purchased – otherwise you run the risk of data loss and corruption.

Report your fake if testing confirms you have purchased fake capacity flash memory on ebay.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hello Ian,

    Once upon a time when we had more team members we did warn sellers – often all we got for our trouble was abuse, though some did remove their listings. We simply don’t have the people and time to do that now as an awful lot of ebayers are buying fakes from wholesale outlets on DHgate and AliBaba.

    The post did not suggest you deliberately listed fakes it simply said that the flash drive in the listing was fake, which was (as you discovered) a simple statement of fact. We are glad you realised and removed your fakes from sale, which was the honourable thing to do. Sorry if this simple statement of fact upset you.

    fightflashfraud

    January 20, 2011 at 3:10 PM

  2. Hi there, I am the original user “foxymob-deja-vu” after browsing the internet I came across this blog which to be quite honest is slanderous as you have only put part of the story on here and you are implying that I am selling fake goods intentionally.

    I just want to explain that I was the victim of fraud as I bought these products in good faith from DHgate from china.

    Once the items were received I put one into my computer and it registered as 32gb, therefore I believed the items were legit.

    After listing the item I kept one for myself, which I used for storing files on. It was only when I had reached 2gbs that my files became corrupt that I realised something was wrong with it. After this I searched online forums to see if anyone else had had problems and discovered that this was a common scam in china and that they program the chips to make them appear much higher storage than they really are.So I immediately withdrew my listing (even though it had bids on) as I am not prepared to sell items that are counterfeit unlike other ebay sellers.

    I ended up buying three fake USB sticks and still have them. It was later that I realised the true capacity was roughly 2gb and this whole scam goes on in china.

    I think the best way to combat this thing happening on ebay would be to message the sellers on ebay to see if they know themselves about the problem and to see if they withdraw their items as true fake seller wouldn’t withdraw their items unlike me.

    Ian Fox

    January 20, 2011 at 2:23 PM


Leave a Reply

