Fighting flash fraud on Ebay

The authors of this blog want to elimnate flash fraud on Ebay

fake flash listings on ebay from zhangraosellers vanish suddenly

The 256GB Kingston DataTraveler 310 flash drives sold on ebay by zhangraosellers are certain to be fake capacity counterfeits and anyone who bought one is sure to find that it corrupts their files after a while. The same applies to the 32GB Sandisk Extreme Pro Compact Flash memory cards and 32GB Sandisk SDHC memory cards from this seller. Listings suddenly seemed to end early; shortly before this article was published – were they pulled by the seller or removed by ebay?

We advise everyone who buys flash memory items to test them with the free program h2testw irrespective of where they were purchased – otherwise you run the risk of data loss and corruption.

Report your fake if testing confirms you have purchased fake capacity flash memory on ebay.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I bought one of these, figured it was an out the back door type of thing, until I read this, yes eBay pulled the listng and I can’t even access the auction, even though I paid, which is wrong for eBay to do. I’ve filed a dispute with paypal for this thumb drive and 2 western digital 1.5 tb USB books ( can’t wait to see what is in these after reading this article) yes the price was very good, seller said they were dumping stock to get ready for the 2011 drives and had to clear inventory. I’m confident paypal will refund my money, because eBay actually emailed me to say the auction has been pulled due to the manufacturer. Believing these are counterfeit. I’ve never been ripped off before on eBay and figured if these were clones I’d still be able to use them, but after reading this I now know these are garbage and aren’t even the capacity advertised. Live and learn

    Scott

    January 13, 2011 at 9:18 AM


Comments are closed.

