Fighting flash fraud on Ebay

The authors of this blog want to elimnate flash fraud on Ebay

64GB USB flash drives in private ebay auctions from tcmcnasty

Seller tcmcnasty says in this ebay listing:

Ok, I did not get what I was expecting from my supplier, the led is red instead of blue and there in no clear plastic jewel for the status indicator but this drive is fully functional and has every bit as much space as advertised (64 Gigabytes) If I would have gotten the drives that I payed for I wouldn’t be taking this loss but stuff happens! Feel free to ask any questions, I will leave the drive in the retail package unless you would like it taken out and tested before I ship it (basically, I put programs pics and videos on it run ’em then I reformat with the zero out option in my disc utility and print the results for you)
The drive I took apart is not one that I am selling it is a sample exactly like the sealed ones up for auction.
If the drive doesn’t work send it back to me and I will refund your winning bid.

If ebay seller tcmcnasty is serious about giving refunds then we think all buyers will be asking for one!

What tcmcnasty failed to mention is that what arrived from the supplier were counterfeit 64GB Kingston DataTraveler 150 flash drives.

A counterfeit flash drive is always fake capacity and a fake capacity flash drive always corrupts files once the real capacity (usually under 4GB) has been filled.

We advise everyone who buys flash memory items to test them with the free program h2testw irrespective of where they were purchased – otherwise you run the risk of data loss and corruption.

Report your fake if testing confirms you have purchased fake capacity flash memory on ebay.

