Fighting flash fraud on Ebay

The authors of this blog want to elimnate flash fraud on Ebay

counterfeit 256GB Kingston DT310 drives on ebay from kathyjoff

The 256GB Kingston DataTraveler 310 flash drives in this ebay listing from kathyjoff are too cheap to be genuine. Anyone who buys one of these fake capacity counterfeit USB flash drives will find it corrupts files.

We advise everyone who buys flash memory items to test them with the free program h2testw irrespective of where they were purchased – otherwise you run the risk of data loss and corruption.

Report your fake if testing confirms you have purchased fake capacity flash memory on ebay.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. We assume that you will conatact all customers and refund them. Many ebayers have fallen into the trap of thinking they can buy flash drives cheap from China and discovered they were fake. For those who know the real cost of flash memory it’s pretty obvious that when a supplier is selling brand name flash drives at below manufacturing cost they must be fake capacity counterfeits.

    fightflashfraud

    February 7, 2011 at 9:15 AM

  2. Below is the email sent to the poster of this:
    “I have pulled the item. Unfortunately for me, I am finding out the hard way and after I sold a few of these. I have only heard from a few that I sold, but do not want to sell this item if problems like this arise. I will have to take a loss, but I cannot in good conscience sell something that I have been told was a fake. I just had someone that bought the item explain to me how to see if it was a fake (and that was just last night). Never did I want to sell anything like this. A refund plus the shipping will be coming to you.
    My apologies for wasting your time.”

    I do have a box full of these that I purchased that I will be trying to get my money back on, though I doubt that it will happen. I have a 100% feedback rating that I worked hard for and am going to do everything I can to keep it. I am not on ebay to rip people off.
    – kathyjoff

    KathyJoff

    February 5, 2011 at 11:32 PM


Comments are closed.

